The Gorge Preservation Society

GPS Mission Statement

The Gorge Preservation Society is a non-profit organization, whose mission is to promote the enjoyment and conservation of a unique natural phenomenon called the Canyon Lake Gorge, by encouraging responsible, quality access opportunities through academic partnerships, economic initiatives and citizen involvement.


GPS Board of Directors

Van Green, Chair

Retired State employee for 33 years working with mentally challenged individuals

Texas Master Naturalist with interest in Entomology, Geology, Native Plants, Birding and Home Gardening

BA in Anthropology from University of Texas, a BS in Education from Southwest Texas State and a Master in Education Administration/Supervision from OLLU

Audubon Society since High School


John F. Guenzel, Secretary

Co-owner of Rio Raft & Resort on the Guadalupe River

Past board member and former President of the Canyon Lake Chamber of Commerce

Member of Friends for Rivers and Guadalupe River Organization

Blue Coat member of New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce

Vikki Nelson, Treasurer

Canyon Lake Gorge Tour Docent

Canyon Lake Citizen's Fire Academy Alumni

Escrow Officer, Stewart Title Company

Former Paraeducator / School Secretary, Montgomery County Public Schools, MD

Past Leader: Girl Scouts of America; Environmental Science Club; Odyssey of the Mind Coach


Pete Bryant, Director

Canyon Gorge Tour Guide

Retired educator

Volunteer Naturalist for Flower Garden Banks National Marine Sanctuary, aboard M/V Spree and M/V Fling

Diving for Science volunteer Texas State University

Texas Master Naturalist

Ron Butts, Director

Retired Information Technology Professional - ConocoPhillips

Canyon Gorge Tour Docent, Trailblazer

Texas master Naturalist

Volunteer - Tye Preston Memorial Library

Volunteer - Guadalupe river State Park

volunteer - Comal Tails Alliance


Donna Eccleston, Director

Commissioner, Precinct 1, Comal County

Realtor Mortgage Lender over six years

Appointed and served on Comal County Private Road Study

President & Charter Member Canyon Lake Rotary Club

Tye Preston Memorial Library Capital Campaign Committee

Volunteers for CRRC of Canyon Lake, Canyon Lake, New Braunfels & Hill Country Chambers of Commerce


Sherry Reel, Director

Canyon Gorge Tour Docent

Texas Master Naturalist

Retired Educator

Retired as Activities Coordinator McKenna Children’s Museum, New Braunfels, TX


Jim D. McCullough Jr., Director

Retired Global Chief Geologist - ConocoPhillips

AAPG Certified Geologist

Texas Master Naturalist - Lindheimer Chapter

Volunteer - Bulverde Meals on Wheels

Volunteer - Tye Preston Memorial Library

Bachelor of Arts, Geology, University of Tennessee

Master of Science, Geology, University of Memphis


Darren Brinkkoeter, Director

Fire Chief Comal County Emergency Services District No. 3

American Red Cross, Disaster Chairperson, Board of Directors President

Comal County Emergency Services District No. 3 Commissioner and President

Comal County Emergency Services Organization Treasurer and President

Comal County Local Emergency Planning Committee, Member


GBRA Staff

Jaynellen Kerr, Natural Resource Specialist.

Past Executive Director and President of the Canyon Lake Area Chamber of Commerce

Past Executive Director of the Community Resource & Recreation Center (CRRC)

Past State Archery Champion

South Texas Water Safety Coalition Board Member

Texas Native

Lisa Walzem, Administrative Assistant

Moonlight in the Gorge Gala Sponsors

Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority & Gorge Preservation Society


Canyon Lake/Sattler OFFICE / Mailing Address
2075 FM 2673, Suite D
Canyon Lake, TX 78133

Office Hours: Monday-Friday 9am-5pm


Getting Here

GPS coordinate
N 29.86304 W 098.18750


© 2009 - 2019 Gorge Preservation Society